World Cup 2018: Argentina announce qualifiers squad

Argentina have announced their squad for the 2018 World Cup qualifiers against Uruguay and Venezuela, leaving out six big names in the process.

The biggest omission from the squad is Juventus strike Gonzalo Higuain, while Manchester United defender Marcos Rojo misses out through injury.

Inter Milan's Mauro Icardi returns to the national side along with Higuain's club teammate, Paulo Dybala.

Jorge Sampaoli's boys will face Uruguay on 21 August, before hosting Venezuela on 5 September.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Romero, Guzman, and Rulli.

Defenders: Mascherano, Fazio, Otamendi, Mercado, and Pareja.

Midfielders: Banega, Biglia, Augusto Fernández, Paredes, Pizarro, Di Maria, Acuna, Pastore, Lanzini, and Salvio.

Forwards: Messi, Dybala, Icardi, Joaquin Correa, Aguero.