Shield: Sharks, Ingwe victory stretches KPL dominanc

Kenyan Premier League rivals, AFC Leopards and Kariobangi Sharks are the two finalist to battle for 2017 Shield final and a slot in the CAF Confederations Cup games at top of the year.

The pair secured their berths after wins against Vihiga United and Sony Sugar respectively on Sunday 24 September.

The all KPL affair match up affirms a recent dominance of the top flight league teams in the Cup competition.

The last four editions has seen KPL teams bag the Shield honours.

Nakumatt and Posta Rangers are the to make it in recent time.

2017 zoning

In 2017, a different zoning criteria hand a number of minnows sides handed a fair competing chance and despite likes of Eldoret Youth showing a promising run, it was down to the KPL experience that lasted the mile.

Past Shield Finale fixture

2013: AFC Leopards 1 Gor Mahia 0

2014 Sofapaka 2 Posta Rangers 1

2015 Bandari 4 Nakumatt 2

2016 Tusker  1 Ulinzi  0

2017  Kariobangi Sharks vs AFC Leopards

The tournament winners