Millers crowned Taifa Chapati Super Cup champions

Flamboyant goalkeeper Abdalla Matano saved two penalties during the lottery of the penalty shoot-out to enable Mombasa Maize Millers lift the title of the second edition of Taifa Chapati Super Cup during the finals against Chasa FC played on Sunday 13 November at the Ukunda showground. 

The match ended in a 2-2 deadlock during the normal regulation time. Mombasa Maize Millers drew the first blood in the 28th minute through a spectacular free kick by Abdulamin Hassan outside the box. Chasa restored the parity in the 32nd minute from a clinical header by Yohanna Ogolla who connected from Michael Mbati. Chasa were awarded a penalty two minutes later after a defender handled the ball inside the box and Ramadhan Mwingo sent the ball home. 


Mombasa Maize Millers piled pressure in search for the equalizer and Ramadhan Salim levelled the score ten mins to time from a left-footer inside the box. During the penalty shoot-out Rajab Yusuf, Hassan Abdulamin, Abud Khamis and Saddam Ahmed were the marksmen for Mombasa Maize Millers while Omar Matano’s spot kick was blocked by goalkeeper Philip Onyango. 

Chasa converted their penalties through Yohana Ogolla, Hassan Malaza and Nicholas Masinde. Chasa’s chances were consigned to dustbin when Yohanna Nguma and Mahmoud Mohammed spot kick were saved by goalkeeper Abdalla Matano. Meanwhile, SS Assad trounced FC Shells 4-0 to lift the third playoff, courtesy of a hat-trick by Suleiman Mwaronga as Abdalla Dalo added another goal Mombasa Maize Millers awarded cash award of Ksh 100,000, a champions trophy, players medals and four bales of flour. 

The losers Chasa did not walk home empty handed as they were handed a cash award of Ksh 50,000, first runners-up champions trophy, players medals and four bales of flour. SS Assad won a cash award of Ksh 30,000, first runners-up champions trophy, players medals and four bales of flour. Mahmoud Mohammed of Chasa scooped the best players award while Alpha Omar scooped the best goalkeepers award. 

Suleiman Mwaronga of SS Assad won the top scorers award with six goals to his credit. On their way to the podium Chasa eliminated FC Shells 4-3 through penalty shootout during the first semi-finals while Mombasa Maize Millers floored SS Assad 2-0 during second semi-final.