All Nigeria’s League champions this decade
All Nigeria’s League champions this decade

All Nigeria’s League champions this decade

With the 2019 Nigeria Professional Football League nearly ready to crown new champions, Futaa looks back at who’s been there and done that in the last 10 years.

As far as consistency, it’s great to note that we only have two former champions that are no longer in the picture. Bayelsa United, champions 10 years ago, as well as 2011 winners Dolphin FC are not around to add another title in one decade.



But the same can’t be said about the likes of Enyimba FC, Enugu Rangers, Lobi Stars and especially Kano Pillars. Masu Gida have easily been Nigeria’s club of the decade. Why? Pillars could win their fourth title in 10 should they deliver the business in the next few weeks.



Enyimba FC having been the second best club this decade as far as league titles. They’ve bagged two championships, while traditional arch-rivals Enugu Rangers International have one title to show.

NPFL champions in 10 years:

  • 2009: Bayelsa United
  • 2010: Enyimba
  • 2011: Dolphin
  • 2012: Kano Pillars
  • 2013: Kano Pillars
  • 2014: Kano Pillars
  • 2015: Enyimba
  • 2016: Rangers International
  • 2017: Plateau United
  • 2018: Lobi Stars
  • 2019: ?

With have a new champion in the new decade with the likes of Ifeanyi Ubah or Akwa United who’ve made the Super Six? Or will it be Rangers?  Enyimba? Maybe Pillars? Lobi to defend it?



We’ll find that out in less than a month!

Read more: NPFL Super Six to be staged in Lagos, see fixtures

⬇️ Predict 6 EPL football scores with Futaa6 and you could win the $10,000 Jackpot, best of all it’s completely free to play every week in the Futaa Android App Download it now to play!

Read More: Bournemouth vs Chelsea preview: All stats and facts ahead of Saturday clash