CECAFA: Harambee Stars depart for Uganda

CECAFA: Harambee Stars depart for Uganda

Kenya’s Harambee Stars left the country on Friday evening for Uganda ahead of their 2019 CECAFA championship that is set to Kick Off on Saturday.

Speaking on the team’s departure, Kenya’s head coach Francis Kimanzi told the Federation website: “We have a chance of defending our title. We will, of course, be under pressure but that is the nature of football.

“This tournament is also an avenue for us to give new players a chance. We have AFCON and World Cup Qualifiers coming up next year so it’s important we see who we can involve in the senior team,” he added.

Kenya who is in Group B alongside Tanzania, Sudan, and Zanzibar will open their title defence with a tie against Tanzania on Sunday 8 December in Kampala. Group A has host Uganda, Burundi, Somalia, Djibouti, and Eritrea.

The top two teams from each group will proceed to the semi-final the slated for Tuesday 17 December

Final Squad

Goalkeepers: Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Samuel Odhiambo (Western Stima)

Defenders: Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks), Andrew Juma (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks)

Midfielders: Anthony Wambani (Vasalunds IF), Roy Okal (Mathare United), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Musa Masika (Wazito), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Lawrence Juma (Gor Mahia), Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards), Kevin Kimani (Mathare United), Cliffton Miheso (Gor Mahia)

Forwards: Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars), Timothy Otieno (Tusker)