👔 José Mourinho and the five other managers to win league titles in four countries or more | Futaa.com
👔 José Mourinho and the five other managers to win league titles in four countries or more

👔 José Mourinho and the five other managers to win league titles in four countries or more

"The Special One" has been a hugely influential figure in the landscape of modern football management.

José Mourinho finds himself in an esteemed bracket of tacticians that have won domestic titles in four or more separate countries. Who are the others?

🇭🇷 Tomislav Ivić

🏆 Titles in Yugoslavia, Netherlands, Belgium, Portugal, France

The Croatian won titles with Hajduk Split, Ajax and Anderlecht before completing the set of four with FC Porto in 1988. He then went on to win the title in France with Marseille in 1992. He's remembered for being a brilliant strategist. 

🇦🇹 Ernst Happel

🏆 Titles in Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Austria

Ernst Happel was the first of five managers to win the European Cup with two different clubs. He achieved this incredible feat with Feyenoord and Hamburg and also went on to win domestic titles with both clubs, as well as Club Brugge of Belgium and Swarovski Tirol of Austria. 

🇮🇹 Giovanni Trapattoni

🏆 Titles in Italy, Germany, Portugal, Austria

The legendary Italian won the European Cup, UEFA Cup and UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup as a manager, as well as guiding Italy to World Cup glory in 1990, indicating the breadth of his pedigree at both club and international levels. 

He lifted 10 league titles across spells with Inter, Juventus, Bayern Munich, Benfica and RB Salzburg. A true legend of European football. 

🇧🇪 Eric Gerets

🏆 Titles in Belgium, Netherlands, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Qatar

Belgian legend Eric Gerets made the smooth transition from player to manager after captaining PSV to European success 1988. He started his managerial career with domestic titles in Belgium with Lierse and Club Brugge before making a return to Eindhoven, winning back-to-back titles Eredivisie there. He's since won league titles with Galatasaray, Al-Hilal and Lekhwiya. 

🇵🇹 José Mourinho

🏆 Titles in Portugal, England, Italy, Spain

After conquering Portugal and Europe with FC Porto, José Felix Mourinho went on to become a dominant figure in European football by clinching the Premier League crown in his first season in charge at Chelsea in 2005 and then he defended that crown the following year. The Portuguese tactician was a massive hit at Inter Milan, too, guiding the Nerazzurri to a staggering treble in 2010, and their first European Cup win in 45 years. Then Real Madrid came calling and the 2012 Los Blancos vintage was good enough to usurp a legendary Barcelona side to claim LaLiga glory. Love him or hate him, the man was synonymous with success, and he remains the only man in history to win league titles in England, Italy and Spain. 

🇮🇹 Carlo Ancelotti

🏆 Titles in Italy, England, France, Germany

Carlo Ancelotti is genuine football royalty. As a player, he won the European Cup twice with Milan to along with his three Serie A titles spread across spells at Roma and the Rossoneri. 

As a manager, he is in a rare and elite category of individuals who have won the Champions League with two different clubs during spells at Milan (twice) and Real Madrid. In terms of his domestic titles as a boss, Ancelotti has succeeded with Milan, Chelsea, PSG and Bayern Munich, narrowly missing out on LaLiga glory with Real Madrid. This is a man who has done it all. 

  • Chelsea - Next Match
  • 7, Jul - 7:00pm
Go to Event