Barcelona 2-2 Atletico Madrid: Spoils shared at Nou Camp as Catalans hand further advantage to Real Madrid in title race | Futaa.com
Barcelona 2-2 Atletico Madrid: Spoils shared at Nou Camp as Catalans hand further advantage to Real Madrid in title race
General

Barcelona 2-2 Atletico Madrid: Spoils shared at Nou Camp as Catalans hand further advantage to Real Madrid in title race

Barcelona dropped two more points following a 2-2 draw with Atletico Madrid, handing a further advantage to Real Madrid in the title race. 

Last weekend, Barcelona registered the same results against Celta Vigo, a result that saw Real Madrid overtake the Catalans in the race for the LaLiga title. 

The Catalans took the lead through Diego Costa after putting the ball into his own net from a Messi's corner before the former Chelsea man missed a penalty three minutes later. His blushes were spared though as VAR ordered a retake for Ter Stegen being off his line. Saul took up the responsibility and found the net. 

After the break, Messi netted his 700th career goal with a panenka penalty but a third penalty was awarded which Saul scored to make it 2-2.

Own goal

It had been an entertaining start and finally a goal that the game deserved through an unusual source. Messi had already tested Costa defending his near post with a cheeky free-kick that the striker managed to put behind for a corner. He defended his near post again from the next set-piece but this time got his feet in a muddle. From Messi's wicked delivery, Costa deflected the ball past his own goalkeeper.

Penalty

Atletico Madrid were awarded a penalty three minutes later as Carrasco beat Semedo down the line and lined up Vidal in the area. He skipped one way and the clumsy midfielder took the bait, dangling a leg. Carrasco went down under the contact and the penalty was awarded. 

Diego Costa stepped up to take it and without a doubt, the former Chelsea man had probably worse the minutes of his career. A shocking effort from 6 yards saw his shot saved by Ter Stegen who just stood still to push it clear. 

Replays showed that Ter Stegen was off his line and VAR ordered a retake, a reprieve for Costa but Saul was stepping up to take it. Saul didn't miss the second opportunity, sending Ter Stegen, who was booked for his protests about the retake, the wrong way. 

Barcelona Penalty 

Semedo got there just ahead of Felipe and went down, was there a touch? VAR had to take a look and the penalty was awarded. Messi stepped up and scored a beautiful panenka, that saw him reach the 700th goal mark. 

Atletico Penalty

Carrasco once again won the spot-kick. He speeded past Semedo who accidentally made contact with him then the winger tripped himself up. There wasn't any intention from the Barcelona player but I suppose there was contact. VAR took a look and agree with the referee. 

Saul was the man to take it and Ter Stegen guessed correctly and got a hand to Saul's spot-kick but the ball trickled into the net. 

See the LaLiga standings here.

  • Barcelona - Next Match
  • 8, Jul - 10:00pm
Go to Event