Lionel Messi named ‘Playmaker of the Decade’

Lionel Messi named ‘Playmaker of the Decade’

FC Barcelona captain Lionel Messi has been named the ‘Playmaker of the Decade’ by the International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS).

This isn’t the first time Messi is winning the award that was launched by IFFHS in 2006 with the Argentine winning the gong on a record-equalling four times, in 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2019. He takes over from Man City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne who won the award in 2020.

Messi won the award with 174 points with Japanese based Andres Iniesta finishing second courtesy of his three titles in this category and 127 points. Cristiano Ronaldo, finished outside the top 10, in 12th place with 54 points – one short of Xavi Hernandez.

Messi is currently leading the race for the Pichichi with the 33-year-old currently on top of the goalscorers list in Laliga.

  • Barcelona - Next Match
  • 21, Jan - 10:00pm
Go to Event