Denys Garmash of Dynamo Kyiv was confused and looked lost when English referee Anthony Taylor issued him a second yellow and finally a red card during his team's Champions League match against Benfica on Tuesday.
Taylor had yet to hand him his first yellow card, which was the cause of the confusion.
The incident occurred near the end of the sides' 0-0 draw, and it caused a high degree of uncertainty, but fortunately for Taylor, his error was called out, and Garmash was able to finish the game with only a booking.
The incident is similar to one in which another English referee, Graham Poll, reprimanded Croatian defender Josip Simunic three times before dismissing him in a 2006 World Cup match between Croatia and Australia, but unfortunately for Poll, his error was not corrected.
English match officials have been called out several times for irrational calls during matches, and surely, it is time for the FA and FIFA to take action.