🏅 The Samba flair: Brazilian Ballon d'Or winners

🏅 The Samba flair: Brazilian Ballon d'Or winners

Brazil is known for its wealth of footballing talent over the years. 

It's no surprise the country has had four different Ballon d'Or winners, even though the last came back in 2007.

The list is littered with the best of the crop from Ronaldo to Kaka and Ronaldinho. 

Take a look!

🇧🇷 Kaka

Kaka is the last human to win the Ballon d'Or, in 2007, before Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo took over. 

The Brazilian was an inspirational figure in Milan's UEFA Champions League success in 2007, and was a clear favourite ahead of the then youngsters; Ronaldo and Messi. 

"It has been a sensational year in which I also won the Champions League," he said after winning the award. 

"I thank God for being here and lifting up this award. I must say that this award is the conclusion of a really sensational year.

🇧🇷 Ronaldinho

Before Kaka, Ronaldinho was the last Brazilian to win the award, in 2005. 

He was a clear favourite for the award, beating Frank Lampard, who came second after guiding Chelsea to the Premier League title and Steven Gerrard, who led Liverpool to the Champions League crown. 

It was a good year for the magician, who had already won the Fifa 2004 World Player of the Year and FIFpro World Player of the Year award earlier in the year.

🇧🇷 Ronaldo

Il Fenomeno is the only player to have won the award on three different occasions!

He first became the youngest ever winner of FIFA’s World Player of the Year award in 1996 aged just 20.

He went on to enjoy a hugely successful career, with his second Ballon d’Or and third FIFA World Player of the Year accolade coming while at Real Madrid.

🇧🇷 Rivaldo

The left-footed Brazilian started his career with Palmeiras, which then earned him a move to the Spanish side Deportivo La Coruna in La Liga.

He impressed La Coruna and got a chance to sign for Barcelona in 1997. His dribbling and ability to easily beat opponents saw him become a sensation player for the Catalan club, and he won the award in 1999.

  • Brazil - Next Match
  • 11, Nov - 11:00pm
Go to Event