Bafana Bafana's AFCON squad announced
Bafana Bafana's AFCON squad announced

Bafana Bafana's AFCON squad announced

South Africa coach Stuart Baxter has named a 23-man squad that will represent the country in the Africa Cup of Nations tournament set to start on the 21st of June in Egypt. 

The team will jet out for a pre-tournament camp in Dubai, where they will face Ghana in a friendly match before heading to Egypt for the finals. 

There will be time for Bafana Bafana to play another friendly before the finals, this time facing Angola.

Joel Untersee and Nikola Tavares, who play for Empoli and Crystal Palace respectively, missed out as they could not get their passports in good time. 

Here is the full squad; 

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits ), Rowen Williams (Supersport), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders: Daniel Cardoso (Chiefs), Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates), Sifiso Hlanti (Wits ), Buhle Mkhawanazi (Wits), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City). 

Midfielders: Bongani Zungu (Amiens), Hlompho Kekana (Downs), Dean Furman (SS), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford), Tiyani Mabunda (Downs), Thulani Serero (Vitesse), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates), Themba Zwane (Downs)

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal St Union), Lars Veldwijk (Sparta Rotterdam), Lebogang Maboe (Downs), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Downs)

The South Africans, who are in Group D with Morocco, Namibia and Ivory Coast,  open their campaign on June 24, against The Elephants.  

Read more: AFCON Preparations: Namibia stun Ghana in friendly match

⬇️ Predict 6 EPL football scores with Futaa6 and you could win the $10,000 Jackpot, best of all it’s completely free to play every week in the Futaa Android App Download it now to play!

Read More: Champions League top scorers 2019-20: Golden Boot goal standings and assists after group stage