Pichichi standings in the Spanish LaLiga

Pichichi standings in the Spanish LaLiga

The top goalscorer in LaLiga is always awarded the Pichichi Trophy at the end of the season.

This has been happening since the 1952/53 season and the trophy was named after Athletic Bilbao marksman Rafael “Pichichi” Moreno.

As expected, Barcelona's Lionel Messi leads the chart, but Karim Benzema is also eyeing the trophy and it might just be a good race when the season resumes.

As things stand at the moment:

1. Lionel Messi: 19 goals (1,890 minutes)
2. Karim Benzema: 14 goals (2,220 minutes)
3. Luis Suárez: 11 goals (1,278 minutes)
4. Roger Martí: 11 goals (1,668 minutes)
5. Lucas Pérez: 11 goals (1,940 minutes)

6. Gerard Moreno: 11 goals (2,063 minutes)
7. Ángel Rodríguez: 10 goals (1,095 minutes)
8. Lucas Ocampos: 10 goals (1,915 minutes)

9. Willian José: 9 goals (1,451 minutes)
10. Maxi Gómez: 9 goals (1,508 minutes)

[Players with the same amount of goals are ranked by fewer minutes played.]