🏆 All you need to know about the new European Super League

🏆 All you need to know about the new European Super League

Shockwaves were sent around the European football circles after it was revealed that 12 teams had come together to establish a new competition.

The completion, dubbed the European Super League, is set to replace the UEFA Champions League with the move having elicited mixed reactions from those involved with European football.

A statement from the competition noted in the early hours of Monday: “Twelve of Europe’s leading football clubs has today come together to announce they have agreed to establish a new midweek competition, the Super League, governed by its Founding Clubs.”

  • Teams involved

“AC Milan, Arsenal FC, Atlético de Madrid, Chelsea FC, FC Barcelona, FC Internazionale Milano, Juventus FC, Liverpool FC, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid CF and Tottenham Hotspur have all joined as Founding Clubs. It is anticipated that a further three clubs will join ahead of the inaugural season, which is intended to commence as soon as practicable.”

  • Competition format

According to the statement, 20 participating clubs with 15 Founding Clubs and a qualifying mechanism for a further five teams to qualify annually based on achievements in the prior season.

Midweek fixtures with all participating clubs continuing to compete in their respective national leagues, preserving the traditional domestic match calendar which remains at the heart of the club game.

The games will commence in August with clubs participating in two groups of 10, playing home and away fixtures, with the top three in each group automatically qualifying for the quarter-finals. Teams finishing fourth and fifth will then compete in a two-legged play-off for the remaining quarter-final positions. A two-leg knockout format will be used to reach the final at the end of May, which will be staged as a single fixture at a neutral venue.

The move though hasn’t been approved by UEFA and FIFA with the body confirming that they will discuss with the two bodies to deliver the best outcomes for the new League and for “football as a whole.”

  • Leaders

Real Madrid president Florentino Pérez will be the first Chairman of the Super League. With Andrea Agnelli, Chairman of Juventus being his Vice-Chairman. Other vice-chairmen of the group will include Joel Glazer, Co-Chairman of Manchester United.

  • Real Madrid - Next Match
  • 4, Dec - 8:00pm
Go to Event