UEFA to take Disciplinary Action Against Super League Teams

UEFA to take Disciplinary Action Against Super League Teams

Nine of the 12 teams that collaborated to create the European Super League signed a "club commitment statement" on Friday, which includes a commitment to future UEFA club tournaments.

The clubs will also donate a total of €15 million to children's football initiatives across Europe, and those involved will have 5% of their earnings from their next UEFA club competition deducted as a punishment for the breakaway attempt, according to the announcement.

Aleksander Ceferin, the president of UEFA, issued the following statement about the agreement:

"I said at the UEFA Congress two weeks ago that it takes a strong organization to admit making a mistake especially in these days of trial by social media. These clubs have done just that. In accepting their commitments and willingness to repair the disruption they caused, UEFA wants to put this chapter behind it and move forward in a positive spirit.

"The measures announced are significant, but none of the financial penalties will be retained by UEFA. They will all be reinvested into youth and grassroots football in local communities across Europe, including the UK.

"These clubs recognized their mistakes quickly and have taken action to demonstrate their contrition and future commitment to European football. The same cannot be said for the clubs that remain involved in the so-called 'Super League' and UEFA will deal with those clubs subsequently."

The deal has been accepted by AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea, Inter Milan, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur.

The remaining Super League teams, Barcelona, Juventus, and Real Madrid, have yet to reach an agreement, and UEFA said in a statement that their cases are being referred to the governing body's disciplinary arm for "whatever action it considers necessary."