All you need to know about the Europa and Conference League 

All you need to know about the Europa and Conference League 

The Europa League group stages drew to a close on Thursday with teams already dropping into the Europa Conference League while others were knocked out of the competition. 

We take a look at the teams to have qualified for the next round and who joins from the Champions League as well as when is the draw for the next stage. 

Europa League play-off round 

There have been changes this season with now the group stages reduced to eight instead of a round of 32. The teams which finished second in their respective groups will face one of the eight sides that finished third in the Champions League in a two-legged play-off round in February. 

The winners will face Europa League group leaders in the last 16 in March while clubs who have finished third will see their European seasons extended for the first time, with those eight sides facing one of the eight sides who finished second in the Europa Conference League group stage for a place in the last 16 of that competition.

UEL Qualified teams 

Eight teams will be in the Europa League beyond the group stages after finishing first in their respective groups. Premier League side West Ham United advanced to the knock-out stages despite suffering a 1-0 loss to GNK Dinamo Zagreb on Thursday night. 

  • Lyon
  • Bayer Leverkusen
  • Monaco
  • West Ham
  • Spartak Moscow
  • Eintracht Frankfurt
  • Red Star Belgrade
  • Galatasaray

Play-off round 

The Borussia Dortmund, Sheriff, Zenit St. Petersburg, FC Porto, Barcelona, Atalanta, and Sevilla will be featuring in the play-off rounds after being eliminated from the Champions League. They join the teams who finished second in their respective groups. 

  • Rangers
  • Real Betis
  • Real Sociedad
  • Napoli
  • Olympiakos
  • Dinamo Zagreb
  • Braga
  • Lazio
  • Borussia Dortmund
  • Sheriff
  • Zenit
  • RB Leipzig
  • FC Porto
  • Barcelona
  • Atalanta
  • Sevilla

Europa League Conference 

Eight teams have already dropped to the Europa League Conference after finishing third in their respective groups. These are the seeded teams in the ECL knockout round playoffs, take a look below; 

  • Celtic
  • Fenerbahce
  • Leicester
  • PSV
  • Sparta Prague
  • Marseille
  • Rapid Vienna
  • Midtjylland

ELC Group leaders 

Here is the list of eight teams to have booked a spot in the Europa Conference League last 16 after finishing at the top of their respective groups. 

  • LASK
  • Gent
  • Roma
  • AZ
  • Feyenoord
  • Copenhagen
  • Rennes
  • Basel 

Qualified teams for the ELC 

Vitesse and Tottenham are yet to know their fate after their Thursday clash was postponed due to a coronavirus outbreak. 

Below are the teams that secured a second spot; 

  • Bodo/Glimt
  • Maccabi Tel Aviv
  • PAOK
  • Partizan Belgrade
  • Qarabag
  • Randers
  • Slavia Prague
  • Vitesse/Tottenham*

Playoff draw 

The Europa League play-off draw and Europa Conference League play-off draw take place in Nyon, Switzerland on Monday, December 13.


The 2021/22 Europa League final is set to take place on Wednesday, May 18 at the Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan Stadium in Seville, Spain.