Kenya's trio named in Zesco 2018 squad

Kenya's trio named in Zesco 2018 squad

10 Jan 2018, 11:57

FAZ Super League Champions Zesco United has named its squad that will take part in the upcoming season and Kenya's trio have made the cut after making impressive runs in the last season. 

Last season club top scorer Jesse Were, defenders Anthony Akumu and David Owino have all been named in the preliminary squad.  In the transfer window, the Zambia side acquired three new signings to bolster the squad. 

Former NAPSA Stars defender Solomon Sakala joined the Lusaka based side and will fight out with Owino in the defence line. Two midfielders Edward Tembo and Lameck Banda joined the club and will subject Akumu to an intensive fight for midfield roles.

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Jacob Banda, Dieudonne Ntibahezwa, Lameck Nyangu, Samson Banda; 

Defenders: Simon Silwimba, Shemmy Mayembe, Fackson Kapumbu, Bornwell Silengo, David Owino,  Daut Musekwa, Marcel Kalonda, Solomon Sakala; Midfielders: Kondwani Mtonga, Misheck Chaila, Mwape Mwelwa, Anthony Akumu, John Chin’gandu, Logic Chin’gandu, Enock Sabakukama, Edward Tembo, Lameck Banda.

Strikers: Lazarous Kambole, Jesse Jackson Were,  Jackson Mwanza, Winston Kalengo, Adams Zikiru, Dave Daka and Maybin Kalengo.

Festive Season Duties

Were has managed to remain at the club despite interest from South Africa's Cape Town Ajax. Akumu and the striker have been in the country during the festive season and helped South B Combined win the Koth Biro tournament. Were won the Dagoretti Cup with Kibera Stars. 

Related news
International News
Napoli star interested in Man City move
19 Jun 2018, 16:15
Local News
Odera brace hands Leopards second consecutive win over timid Chemelil
16 Jun 2018, 16:45
FIFA World Cup
Morocco ace slams match officials
7 hours ago
FIFA World Cup
Salah denies split reports in Egypt camp
3 hours ago
FIFA World Cup
England boss laughs off dislocated shoulder
3 hours ago