KPL awards: Mathare skipper named defender of the year

KPL awards: Mathare skipper named defender of the year

12 Jan 2018, 21:23

Mathare United George Owino has been named 2017 Kenyan Premier League defender of the year during an awards ceremony held on Friday 12 January in Nairobi.

Owino bagged the award ahead of Nakumatt's Nicholas Meja and Joackins Atudo of Posta Rangers who were second and third in that order.

Past winners

2016: 1. Joackins Atudo (Posta Rangers), 2.  Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), 3. Noah Abich (Sofapaka)

2015: 1. Karim Nzigiyimana (Gor Mahia), 2. Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), 3. Geoffrey Kokoyo (Ulinzi)

2014: 1. David Owino (Gor Mahia), 2. Charles Odette (Sony Sugar), 3.  Felly Mulumba (Sofapaka)

2013: 1. David Owino (Gor Mahia), 2. John Odhiambo (KCB), 3. Felly Mulumba (Sofapaka)

2012: 1. Ivan Anguyo (Gor Mahia), 2. Jockins Atudo (Tusker), 3. Eugene Asike (Sofapaka)

2011: 1.Pascal Ochieng (Rangers), 2. Eric Masika (Gor Mahia), 3. Joseph Shikokoti (Tusker).

2010: 1.Geoffrey Kokoyo (Ulinzi Stars), 2.David Otieno (Sony Sugar) 3. James Situma (Sofapaka)

2009: 1. Edgar Ochieng (Mathare United), 2. Jockins Atudo (Tusker FC), 3. Francis Akango (Gor Mahia) 

2008: Edgar Ochieng (Mathare United)

Related news
FIFA World Cup
Sigurdsson: Being in Russia is big achievement
13 hours ago
Transfer News
Roma midfielder confirms move
22 Jun 2018, 13:25
FIFA World Cup
Russia star set to miss final group match
10 hours ago
FIFA World Cup
England vs Panama: Sterling starts for England
12 hours ago
FIFA World Cup
Sweden irked by Germany wild celebrations
16 hours ago