BREAKING: USA, Mexico, Canada to host 2026 World Cup

BREAKING: USA, Mexico, Canada to host 2026 World Cup

13 Jun 2018, 13:50

The United States, Mexico, and Canada will jointly host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

The 'United Bid' won the FIFA confidence to host the showpiece over Africa's nation Morocco. USA, Canda, and Mexico received  134 votes, Morocco received 65 votes while one country voted for neither.

A total of 210 members were present and eligible to vote and seven chose to abstain the vote. The four countries directly involved (USA, Canada, Mexico and Morocco) and three US-governed territories (Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa and the US Virgin Islands).

Mexico previously hosted the World Cup in 1970 and 1986. The United States staged the tournament in 1994. Canada has never held the competition.

Expanded WC

The 2026 World Cup will expand to 48 teams from 32 and will feature a new format of 16 round-robin groups of three teams with the top two from each pool advancing to a 32-nation knockout round.

The  U.S. will host 60 matches, including all games from the quarter-finals through to the final. Canada and Mexico would each host 10 games apiece.

Edmonton, Montreal, and Toronto are the Canadian cities set to host the matches, while Atlanta, Baltimore, Boston, Cincinnati, Dallas, Denver, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Miami, Nashville, New York/New Jersey, Orlando, Philadelphia, San Francisco Bay Area, Seattle and Washington, D.C are the US cities host of matches that will be played there.

Mexico will host the matches in  Guadalajara, Mexico City, and Monterrey.


Related news
FIFA World Cup
Nigeria fall short as Croatia grab top spot
16 Jun 2018, 23:57
International News
Tough start for Gerrard as Rangers manager
15 Jun 2018, 12:10
Transfer News
Transfer Talk: Barca identifies Iniesta replacement, United hits brick wall in defender's pursuit
16 hours ago
FIFA World Cup
Evra defends Pogba
10 hours ago
FIFA World Cup
Messi misses penalty as Iceland holds dominant Argentina
16 Jun 2018, 17:54