Rupia scores as Nzoia falls to Sharks

Rupia scores as Nzoia falls to Sharks

13 Jun 2018, 17:10

An own goal from Brian Otieno helped Kariobangi Sharks beat Nzoia Sugar 2-1 in a Kenyan Premier League match staged at Camp Toyoyo Grounds on Wednesday 13th June.

The game started on a good note both teams trying to outdo each other. Nzoia had a glorious chance after Kevin Juma passed the ball to Elvis Rupia but his shot went wide. Wakanya tried a long-range shot that did not trouble John Oyemba in goal in the 32nd minutes.

Another chance for the hosts fell on the hands of Duke Abuya but Vincent Ngesa could not allow him to compose himself enough and take the shot. Ngesa’s clearance just went out and a corner for Sharks.

An error in Nzoia’s area almost cost them but Ngesa stood firm and in the process fouled George Abege. Ngesa was cautioned with a yellow card. Nzano headed away from the ball from a Wakhanya’s cross as the Millers looked for an opener.

HT Kariobangi Sharks 0-0 Nzoia Sugar

Both teams came in the second half with the mentality of winning the game. In the 53rd minute, Luke Namanda robbed Sharks' defense the ball passing it to Rupia who netted the opener for the visitors. Sharks grabbed their equalizer in the 60th minute through Abege who received a beautiful pass from Abuya. 

In the 70th minute, a miscommunication between  Benson Mangala and Brian Otieno led to an unfortunate own goal. Mangala punched the ball towards Brian who deflected the ball into his own net.

FT Kariobangi Sharks 2-1 Nzoia Sugar

Kariobangi Sharks starting XI: John Oyemba, Erick Juma, Pascal Ogweno, Geoffrey Shiveka, Sven Yidah, Saphan Oyugi, Harrison Mwendwa, Fidel Origa, Duke Abuya, Bolton Omwenga, Micheal Bodo and George Abege.

Unused subs: Gad Matthew, Wycliffe Otieno, Erick Kapaito, Christopher Kimathi, Paul Kamau, Erick Kipkirui, James Mazembe, Moses Mwangi

Nzoia Sugar starting XI: 39. Benson Mangala, 26. Festus Okiring, 16. Hillary Wandera, 28. Brian Otieno, 34. Vincent Ngesa, 04. Peter Gin, 08. Edgar Nzano(Luke Namanda),13. Kevin Juma(Patrick Kwitonda), 33. Elvis Rupia, 02. Stephen Wakanya, 09. David Odhiambo

Unused Subs: 15. Humphrey Katasi, 05. Edwin Wafula, 24. Tom Teka, 25. Dennis Wanjala, 12. George Mutimba

Read also: Kahata, Kagere dismantle Wazito as unbeaten run continues

Related news
International News
Spurs to stage first CL match at Wembley
14 hours ago
International News
Hazard: I am staying at Chelsea
19 Aug 2018, 11:45
International News
Revealed: 2017/2018 Player of the year Awards nominees
14 hours ago
International News
Wenger: I'm yet to decide about my future
12 hours ago
International News
Madrid suffering Ronaldo hang over after shock attendance
15 hours ago