| Futaa.com Kenya

A total of 12 players will fly the Kenyan Premier flag when the 2019 African Cup of Nations Kicks Off in Egypt from Friday 21 June to Friday 19 July.

The players from the Kenyan top league are derived from the Kenyan and the Burundi teams.

Kenya has the highest number of players from the KPL in the competition with the Sebastien Migne coached side producing nine players for the event.

The eight from the Kenyan team are Gor Mahia’s Philemon Otieno, Joash Onyango and Francis Kahata, AFC Leopards' Paul Were, Kariobangi Sharks John Oyemba, Vihiga United’s Bernard Ochieng, Bandari’s Faruk Shikhalo and Sofapaka duo of Dennis Odhiambo and John Avire.


Burundi has goalkeeper Justin Ndikumana and defender Moussa Omar from Sofapaka and Gor Mahia’s Francis Mustafa.

A quick look at the continent’s league representation has revealed that South Africa’s Premier Soccer (PSL) League, also known as the Absa Premiership leads with the most players 942) at AFCON 2019.

They are followed by Egypt (24) and Tanzania (20) with the Cameroon, Zimbabwe, Senegal and Guinea leagues having no player representatives at this year's event.

Read More: Manchester United steps up interest in Norwich defender