Jadon Sancho might be buzzing about his three goals against Paderborn in the Bundesliga but according to a rule in Germany, his three goals aren’t classed as a legitimate hat-trick.
The England international bagged three goals as Dortmund returned to winning ways in style after their 1-0 loss in the Der Klassiker, but his contribution to the 6-1 win is being played down.
According to a rule in Germany, his hattrick is not legitimate because the three strikes weren’t scored without any other player scoring between them.
The 20-year-old scored Dortmund’s second and third goals, but their fourth goal was scored by Achraf Hakimi and their fifth by Marcel Schmelzer.
Sancho scored in injury-time to complete the win but because his goals weren’t scored consecutively, it doesn’t count as a hat-trick in Germany.
German journalist Raphael Honigstein once explained the situation saying: “In Germany, for some reason, we don't consider this a proper hat-trick,” Honigstein told BBC Radio 5 live, per the Mirror.
"It needs to be in one half, but also, nobody scoring in between.
"We are so German we don't consider it a hat-trick."
The hat-trick matters to the winger though!
.@Sanchooo10 has directly contributed to 33 goals in the Bundesliga this season and he’s got five games left to add to that tally. Messi & Barça are back in LaLiga action on June 13th 😻#mondaymotivation pic.twitter.com/nR2YurfvPF— Futaa.com (@Futaacom) June 1, 2020
This win sees Dortmund keep pace with league leaders Bayern Munich, who now hold a seven-point advantage.