Kenyan Premier League giants AFC Leopards elected new officials on Sunday 23 June at the MISC Kasarani with Dan Shikanda clinching the Chairman’s seat.

The elections were held after the office holders ended their three-year terms permitted by the constitution

Shikanda who was competing against Ben Musundi and former club’s Chief Executive Officer Ronald Namai garnered 456 votes with Musundi and Namai going home with 165 and 72 votes respectively.

In the Secretary-General post, formerly held by Oscar Igaida, Oliver Sikuku emerged the winner with 570 votes, his close and only challenger Situma going home with 124 votes.


The club faithful decided to hand the treasurer post to Chichi Maurice who garnered 506 votes as Napali Imbenzi came second with 188 votes.

The election came after the club dismissed former Boniface Ambani whose plea to stop the process was thrown away by the courts

Shikanda who previously featured for Gor Mahia played for Leopards and was part of the team that won the Kenyan Premier League (KPL) title in 1986, 1988 and 1989.

He was part of the 'Rescue Team' that was formed at the start of the 2018/19 season to help the club curb their poor start of the season that had threatened their stay in the Kenyan top flight.

Read More: Lionel speaks out after win over Qatar in Copa America