FIFA reveals Puskás Award nominees for 2019 | Nigeria
FIFA reveals Puskás Award nominees for 2019

FIFA reveals Puskás Award nominees for 2019

World governing body FIFA has released the top 10 contenders for this year's Puskas award, given to the best goal from the previous year. 

The winner is determined through a voting process, with Club members now able cast a vote, with the exercise open until Monday 1 September (at midnight CEST).

The winner will succeed 2018’s pick, Mo Salah, in taking home the coveted crown.

Here are the contenders;

Matheus Cunha (BRA)
Bayer Leverkusen v RB Leipzig [Bundesliga] (6 April 2019)

Zlatan Ibrahimović (SWE)
Toronto FC v LA Galaxy [MLS] (15 September 2018)

Lionel Messi (ARG)
Real Betis v FC Barcelona [La Liga] (17 March 2019)

Ajara Nchout (CMR)
Cameroon v New Zealand [FIFA Women’s World Cup] (20 June 2019)

Fabio Quagliarella (ITA)
Sampdoria v Napoli [Serie A] (2 September 2018)

Juan Fernando Quintero (COL)
River Plate v Racing Club [Argentinian Superliga] (10 February 2019)

Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Utah Royals v Sky Blue FC [NWSL] (16 June 2019)

Billie Simpson (NIR)
Sion Swifts Ladies FC v Cliftonville Ladies FC [Women’s NIFL Premiership] (9 August 2018)

Andros Townsend (ENG)
Manchester City v Crystal Palace [Premier League] (22 December 2018)

Dániel Zsóri (HUN)
Debrecen FC v Ferencváros TC [Nemzeti Bajnoskag I] (16 February 2019)

After the close of public voting, the top three goals selected by the users will be then put up for a vote among FIFA Legends, who will decide the winner of the FIFA Puskás Award. 

Read more: Solskjaer points out Mason Greenwood's key quality that sets him above Rashford, Martial