2021 AFCON qualifier: Super Eagles land in Lesotho

2021 AFCON qualifier: Super Eagles land in Lesotho

Nigeria’s Super Eagles have landed in the capital of Lesotho, Maseru for Sunday’s 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against the Crocodiles.

Lesotho themselves have just returned from Freetown, where they earned an inspiring point in a 1-1 draw with the Leone Stars on Day 1 of the campaign on Wednesday.

On the same day, the Super Eagles edged Benin 2-1 in an intense encounter at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo to go top of the qualifying pool. France –based duo of Victor Osimhen (from the spot) and Samuel Kalu (angled low drive) secured the win for Nigeria after the Squirrels had taken a second-minute lead through Stephane Sessegnon.

According to a statement from the NFF, the chartered Max Air aircraft that flew the delegation had a stop-over in Angola but safely arrived in Maseru on Saturday afternoon, and players and officials were immediately ferried to their Avani Lesotho hotel.

Nigeria was scheduled to have the official training at the match venue – Maseru-Setsoto Stadium – at 7 pm Lesotho time (6 pm in Nigeria) on Saturday.

Sunday’s encounter will kick off at 6 pm Lesotho time (5 pm in Nigeria), and it is exactly one year to the day that the Super Eagles secured a 1-1 draw with South Africa’s Bafana Bafana in Johannesburg to grab a ticket to this year’s Africa Cup of Nations finals in Egypt, where they finished third and with the bronze medals.

Team doctor Ibrahim Gyaran confirmed to thenff.com that there are no injuries within the 23 –man playing body.

The Confederation of African Football has named 41 –year old Botswanan official, Joshua Bondo as the referee, with Bondo’s compatriots Meshack Medupi, Mogomotsi Morakile and Tshepo Mokani Gobagoba as assistant referee 1, assistant referee 2 and fourth official respectively.

Johannes Jakob Vries from Namibia will serve as match commissioner while South African Carlos Henriques will be referee assessor.

23 Super Eagles in Lesotho

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Ifeanyi Anaemena (Enyimba FC)

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France)