AFCON 2019: The stadiums and teams
AFCON 2019: The stadiums and teams

AFCON 2019: The stadiums and teams

The kick off of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations is just days away with all teams and venue getting set for the showpiece.

Work has gone remarkably well in all the designated centres and CAF and the LOC have in abundance persons with institutional knowledge and dedication to drive the process for a hitch –free tournament.

Matches will be hosted in six stadia located in four different cities: Cairo, Alexandria, Suez and Ismailia.

The Cairo International Stadium, one of the biggest football stadia on the African continent, is home to Group A headed by host nation and record seven –time winners Egypt, with two –time winners Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda and Zimbabwe as fellow contenders.

Alexandria Stadium, located in the city of the same name, will host three –time winners Nigeria, 1976 runners-up Guinea, and debutants Madagascar and Burundi.

Cairo’s Air Defense Stadium is the venue for Group C, headed by Africa’s number one –ranked team and 2002 runners-up Senegal, with 1990 champions Algeria, Kenya and Tanzania also in the mix.

Another stadium in Cairo, Al Salam, will serve as home for Group D, headed by 1976 champions Morocco, and with 1992 and 2015 champions Cote d’Ivoire, 1996 winners South Africa and Namibia also involved.

Group E, headed by 2004 champions Tunisia, makes home in the historic city of Suez, with 1927 runners-up Mali, Mauritania and Angola making up the band at the Suez Stadium.

Group F, at the Ismailia Stadium in the city of the same name, is headed by five –time champions and Cup holders Cameroon, and also has four-time winners Ghana, Benin Republic and Guinea Bissau.

Friday’s opening match will feature the Pharaohs of Egypt, making their 24th appearance in the championship, and the Warriors of Zimbabwe, who are making their fourth appearance but have never gone beyond the group stage.

Nigeria’s first match of the finals is against Burundi’s Itamba Mu Rugamba on Saturday 22nd June, with clashes against Barea of Madagascar (Wednesday 26th June) and Syli Nationale of Guinea (Sunday 30th June) to come in the group stage.


💬 Comment on this story