Sancho's hat-trick for Dortmund not classed as legitimate due to German rule | Futaa.com Tanzania
Sancho's hat-trick for Dortmund not classed as legitimate due to German rule
General

Sancho's hat-trick for Dortmund not classed as legitimate due to German rule

Jadon Sancho might be buzzing about his three goals against Paderborn in the Bundesliga but according to a rule in Germany, his three goals aren’t classed as a legitimate hat-trick.

The England international bagged three goals as Dortmund returned to winning ways in style after their 1-0 loss in the Der Klassiker, but his contribution to the 6-1 win is being played down.

According to a rule in Germany, his hattrick is not legitimate because the three strikes weren’t scored without any other player scoring between them.

The 20-year-old scored Dortmund’s second and third goals, but their fourth goal was scored by Achraf Hakimi and their fifth by Marcel Schmelzer.

Sancho scored in injury-time to complete the win but because his goals weren’t scored consecutively, it doesn’t count as a hat-trick in Germany.

German journalist Raphael Honigstein once explained the situation saying: “In Germany, for some reason, we don't consider this a proper hat-trick,” Honigstein told BBC Radio 5 live, per the Mirror.

"It needs to be in one half, but also, nobody scoring in between.

"We are so German we don't consider it a hat-trick."

The hat-trick matters to the winger though!

This win sees Dortmund keep pace with league leaders Bayern Munich, who now hold a seven-point advantage.