| Futaa.com Uganda

There was a general feeling that Alex Isabirye was included in the 2018 Coach of the year shortlist to give a mileage to the FUFA Drum tournament which he won with Buganda Province.

But the federation insisted that the coach of the year was selected through votes cast by the Uganda Football Coaches Association (UFCA). 

Isabirye, also the coach of second division side Kyetume FC, was shortlisted alongside Mike Mutebi of KCCA, Ayub Khalifa of Kawempe Muslims, Miguel da Costa who won the league with Vipers SC and Ndejje University’s Raymond Komakech.

FUFA has now released a trimmed shortlist of three coaches with Isabirye and da Costa failing to make the cut just a day to the awards gala to be held at the Speke Resort in Munyonyo.

Mutebi will be eyeing a three-peat after scooping the previous two awards.