Ryan Giggs wins Athletic Bilbao's 'one-club man' prize

Ryan Giggs wins Athletic Bilbao's 'one-club man' prize

Manchester United legend Ryan Giggs has been announced as the winner of Athletic Bilbao's 'One-Club Man' award.

Giggs spent 23 years as a Man United player, featuring in 963 games.

This prize, which was created in 2015, “rewards players whose trajectories in a single team represent values that Athletic Club considers attached to their identity”.

The first winner of the award was Matthew Le Tissier, who was honored in 2015 for his dedication to Southampton across 17 seasons.
Le Tissier has been followed in subsequent years by Paolo Maldini (AC Milan), Sepp Maier (Bayern Munich), Carles Puyol (Barcelona), Malin Mostrom (Umea IK) and Billy McNeill (Celtic).

Giggs, who is currently the manager of the Welsh national team, will be expected in Bilbao to receive his award.

  • Manchester United - Next Match
  • 11, May - 8:00pm
Go to Event