The 27th edition of the CAF Awards were held on Tuesday night in a colourful awards Gala that took place at the Abdou Diouf International Centre in Dakar, Senegal.

Egypt’s Mohammed Salah and South African football queen Thembi Kgatlana were crowned the African male and female player of the year 2018.

Mauritania who have qualified for the Africa Cup of nations for the first time beat their fellow to-be debutant Madagascar and 2016 winners Uganda to the national team of the year.

Senegal's national team's head coach Aliou Cisse lost the coach of the year award to Herve Renard of Morocco.

Losing finalists in the men’s category Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Senegalese Sadio Mane made the CAF team of the year alongside Uganda Cranes skipper Denis Onyango.

Here is the full list of the winners;

Men’s Player of the Year - Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year - Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

Youth Player of the Year - Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)

Men’s Coach of the Year - Herve Renard (Morocco)

Women’s Coach of the Year - Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Men’s National Team of the Year - Mauritania 

Women’s National Team of the Year - Nigeria

Platinum Award - His Excellency Macky Sall (President of the Republic of Senegal)
Federation President of the Year - Fouzi Lekjaa

Goal of the Year - Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

CAF Best XI: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns & Uganda); Mehdi Benatia (Juventus & Morocco), Eric Bailly (Ivory Coast and Manchester United), Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli &Senegal), Serge  Aurier (Tottenham Hotspur & Ivory Coast);  Riyad Mahrez (Man City & Algeria), Naby Keïta (Liverpool & Guinea), Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atlético Madrid); Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal & Gabon), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool & Egypt), Sadio Mané (Liverpool & Senegal)