Breaking: South Africa announce AFCON 2019 squad
Breaking: South Africa announce AFCON 2019 squad

Breaking: South Africa announce AFCON 2019 squad

The South African Football Association (SAFA) and coach Stuart Baxter has named the AFCON 2019 provisional squad.

Releasing the listing from today’s press conference in Johannesburg, coach Baxter included two ‘passport pending’ players who’ve never played for Mzansi.

The injured Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune has been replaced by the club’s rising star Bruce Bvuma.

Full AFCON 2019 sqaud:

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits ), Ronwen Williams (Supersport), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders: Daniel Cardoso (Chiefs) , Rivaldo Coetzee (Sundowns), Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates), S’Fiso Hlanti (Wits ), Buhle Mkhwanazi (Wits), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City ).

Midfielder: Bongani Zungu (Amiens), Hlompho Kekana (Downs), Dean Furman (SS), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford), Tiyani Mabunda (Downs), Thulani Serero (Vitesse), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates), Themba Zwane (Downs), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg), Ben Motshwari (Pirates), Keagan Dolly.

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal St Union), Lars Veldwijk (Sparta Rotterdam), Lebohang Maboe (Downs), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Downs), Kermit Erasmus (CT City).

Passport Pending Players:
Nikola Tavares (Crystal Palace, England), Joel Unteresee (FC Zurich , Switzerland).

The South Africans begin the tournament against the mighty Ivory Coast on Monday 24 June 2019. Other Group D opponents will be Namibia and Morocco.

The final squad is expected to be named around June 11.

Read more: Coach Baxter says SA's group is tough but exciting