Ahmed Musa, Ordega win Nigeria Pitch Award
Ahmed Musa, Ordega win Nigeria Pitch Award

Ahmed Musa, Ordega win Nigeria Pitch Award

Super Eagles striker, Ahmed Musa and Super Falcons player Francisca Ordega both won the top prizes of King and Queen of the Pitch at the 6th Nigeria Pitch Awards held after the international friendly against Zimbabwe in Asaba.

In the Defender of the Year category, William Troost-Ekong of Udinese starved off competition from fellow team mates Leon Balogun and Kenneth Omeruo to claim the prize, while in the Goalkeeper’s category, Anorthosis Famagusta goalkeeper, Francis Uzoho beat last year’s winner, Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Enyimba International goalie Theophilus Afelokhai to win the prize for the first time.

Leicester City midfielder, Wilfred Ndidi retained the Midfielder of the Year award and Odion Ighalo, the Shanghai Shenhua forward was voted the Striker of the Year.

The Sam Okwaraji Award for commitment to Nigeria Football has been one of the high points of previous Awards Ceremonies. Seyi Akinwunmi, the First Vice President of the NFF and Chairman Lagos FA last night joined Amaju Pinnick and Dr. Ifeanyi Ubah as winners of the prestigious Award.

Oil giant, Aiteo Group retained the Corporate Sponsor of Football award, while Enugu Rangers Coach, Gbenga Ogunbote won the Coach of the Year award with his team carting home the Club of the Year award.

Nigeria’s national women team, Super Falcons were voted the Best National Team.

Full List of winners

Goalkeeper of the Year - Francis Odinaka Uzoho

Defender of the Year - William Troost-Ekong

Midfielder of the Year - Wilfred Ndidi

Striker of the Year - Odion Ighalo

MVP in NPFL - Junior Lokosa

MVP in the NWFL - Rasheedat Ajibade

Queen of the Pitch - Francisca Ordega

King of the Pitch - Ahmed Musa

Coach of the Year - Gbenga Ogunbote

Club of the Year - Enugu Rangers

National Team of the Year - Super Falcons

Referee of the Year - Adebimpe Quadri

Sam Okwaraji Awards - Seyi Akinwunmi

State with the Best Grassroots Football Dev. Prog. - Lagos State

Football Friendly Gov. of the Year - Gov. Ifeanyi Okowa

Football Journalist of the Year (Print) - Johnny Edwards

Football Journalist of the Year (Radio)- Tony Bekederemo

Football Journalist of the Year (TV) - Mozez Praiz

Football Journalist of the Year (Online)- Samuel Ahmadu

Corporate Sponsor of Football - AITEO Group


⬇️ Predict 6 EPL football scores with Futaa6 and you could win the $10,000 Jackpot, best of all it’s completely free to play every week in the Futaa Android App Download it now to play!

Read More: ✅ Our comprehensive tips & best bets for tonight's eight Champions League fixtures