UEFA EURO 2020: Key dates, host cities and all you need to know

UEFA EURO 2020: Key dates, host cities and all you need to know

UEFA EURO 2020 tournament is on the horizon, with the last round of qualification matches set for Tuesday. 

A total of 17 teams have already qualified, with Monday and Tuesday matches set to top up the remaining seven teams. 

Ahead of the tournament set for next year, what are some of the key things you need to know?

Key dates

  • 19/11/2019: European Qualifiers conclude
  • 22/11/2019: European Qualifiers play-off draw
  • 30/11/2019: UEFA EURO 2020 final tournament draw, Bucharest (18:00 CET)
  • 26/03/2020: Play-off semi-finals
  • 31/03/2020: Play-off finals
  • 01/04/2020: Additional final tournament draw if required
  • 12/06/2020: Opening game, Olimpico in Rome
  • 12/07/2020: Final, Wembley Stadium (London)

Who has qualified?

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • England
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine

Who are the hosts?

UEFA changed the format for next year's tournament, and instead of the traditional one or two nations hosting the tournament, next year's event will be spread across the continent with a totla of 12 cities hosting it. 

  • Amsterdam
  • Baku
  • Bilbao
  • Bucharest
  • Budapest
  • Copenhagen
  • Dublin
  • Glasgow
  • London
  • Munich
  • Rome
  • Saint Petersburg

Final and semi-finals will be held at the Wembley Stadium in London, England. 

Will the hosts play their games at home?

Every qualified host would be guaranteed two home games in the group phase, but there would be no such guarantee for the knockout stage.

Host nations that qualify will be automatically placed in the following groups. If both paired nations qualify, a draw will be held to determine which is at home in their direct encounter.

  • Group A: Italy (Olimpico in Rome), Azerbaijan (Olympic Stadium, Baku)
  • Group B: Russia (Saint Petersburg Stadium), Denmark (Parken Stadium, Copenhagen)
  • Group C: Netherlands (Johan Cruijff ArenA, Amsterdam), Romania (National Arena, Bucharest)
  • Group D: England (Wembley Stadium, London), Scotland (Hampden Park, Glasgow)
  • Group E: Spain (Estadio de San Mamés, Bilbao), Republic of Ireland (Dublin Arena)
  • Group F: Germany (Fußball Arena München, Munich), Hungary (Ferenc Puskás Stadium, Budapest)