Fixture clash as AFCON, Euro and Copa America set for June 2021 | Zambia
Fixture clash as AFCON, Euro and Copa America set for June 2021

Fixture clash as AFCON, Euro and Copa America set for June 2021

There's a likelihood of a fixture clash in June 2021 as CAF, UEFA and CONMEBOL look to have their flagship tournament rescheduled after disruption by the coronavirus pandemic. 

UEFA on Tuesday announced that the European Championships that were set to take place during this summer in 12 countries have been pushed to 2021. South America's Copa America has also been postponed to next year.

CAF, on the other hand, had announced that the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations will be moved from June-July dates to January-February due to weather conditions in Cameroon. However, with the current situation, the qualifiers will unlikely be done by end of the year leaving CAF with no option but to fix the tournament in June.

The fixture changes have forced FIFA to cancel next year's Club World Cup to accommodate the tournaments. 

The looming fixture clashes will need a lot of compromises and reworking the 2020/2021 calendar to accommodate all the proposed changes.

CAF will have to squeeze the remaining four rounds of 2021 AFCON qualifiers in the September, October and November international windows. However, the last two windows are reserved for the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers. 

The three continental bodies will be hoping that the coronavirus COVID-19 is affecting 170 countries and territories around the world and an international conveyance will be put under control soon and they can resume their leagues and clear the season.

The outbreak has led to dozens of countries suspending their leagues and tournaments. On Tuesday, CAF suspended CHAN 2020 that was scheduled to take place from April 4 to 25. The African football body had earlier cancelled the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers that were set for the last week of March. 

17 African nations have now suspended domestic football and international games, including Egypt, DR Congo, Ivory Coast, Morocco, Tanzania, Kenya, Gabon, Sudan, Botswana, Ghana, Algeria, Tunisia, South Africa, Ethiopia, Guinea and Sudan.