Blog: Lwandamina omission a big miss
Blog: Lwandamina omission a big miss

Blog: Lwandamina omission a big miss

Nominees for the 2019 MTN/FAZ transitional Super League awards were 'leaked' a few days ago and the biggest debate has been on the omission of Zesco United head coach George Lwandamina from the coach of the year award category.

Lwandamina led the Ndola giants to a double during the shortened version of the Superleague as the Ndola giants clinched a third league title in a row and they won the inaugural ABSA Cup cleaning every title available to them locally.


The nominees for the various categories were not released on the day the date for the awards was announced and according to a representative from the Awards Committee it was done to 'sustain interest' in the awards.

"What we have done is that the nominees will be availed on an actual day because we just want to sustain the interest."

The trend World over is that nominees are made public and the media gets a chance to form debates around the nominees to create the buzz for the main event but unfortunately, the Committee decided to make the nominees 'a top secret'.


The Zesco United gaffer despite winning a double has been omitted from the list of nominees for the coach of the year accolade. Green Eagles boss Aggrey Chiyangi, Srdjan Zivojnov of Buildcon and Chisi Mbewe from Red Arrows are in the running for the award.

This is the second year that Lwandamina is missing from the list despite winning the league back to back. The question now is what criteria was used to nominate the coaches who did not win a thing ahead of someone who won a double. There is a consensus among fans and other stakeholders alike that Lwandamina should have made the list and many feel he is the right person who is supposed to win the award.

The other issue is that after the list of nominees was leaked the Committee has not come out to explain to the public the criteria which saw Lwandamina miss out. The poor public relations surrounding the handling of this matter a worsened the issue because it has left people to speculate without any idea of what transpired.

The sad part is that the unexplainable omission of the former Chipolopolo boss has overshadowed the good work done in the nominations concerning other categories.

The award ceremony will be held on 31st July at the Taj Pamodzi Hotel in Lusaka.

Full list of nominees:
Top Scorer’s Award Winners

Laudit Mavugo (Napsa Stars)
Austin Muwowo (Forest Rangers)
Zikiru Adams (Forest Rangers)

Nominees for Footballer of the Year

Lazarus Kambole (Zesco United)
Austin Muwowo (Forest Rangers)
Bruce Musakanya (Red Arrows)

Nominees for Most Disciplined Player

Bronson Chama (Red Arrows)
Bruce Musakanya (Red Arrows)
Lazarus Kambole (Zesco United)

Nominees for Young Player of the Year

Biston Banda (Circuit City)
Lameck Banda (Buildcon)
Kings Kangwa (Buildcon)

Nominees for Coach of the Year

Aggrey Chiyangi (Green Eagles)
Chisi Mbewe (Red Arrows)
Srdjan Zivojnov (Buildcon)

Nominees for Referee of the Year

Mathews Hamalila
Audrick Nkole
Shem Nyondo

Nominees for Assistant Referee of the Year

Kabwe Chansa
Diana Chikotesha
Romeo Kasengele


⬇️ Predict 6 EPL football scores with Futaa6 and you could win the $10,000 Jackpot, best of all it’s completely free to play every week in the Futaa Android App Download it now to play!

Read More: Kenya 1-0 Zanzibar: Harambee Stars sail to the semis without a blemish