CHAN 2020: Qualified Teams

CHAN 2020: Qualified Teams

Teams that will participate in the 2020 African Nations Championship (CHAN) slated for Cameroon has been confirmed.

Africa giants Nigeria were the biggest casualties after being eliminated in the qualifying process by Togo this coming despite a 2-0 home victory in the second leg of their regional tie.

Sikiru Alimi scored twice in Lagos for the Super Eagles B team, but it was not enough as Togo qualified for the finals 4-3 on aggregate; this being the first appearance for Togo in the competition.

Morocco, Namibia, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe, DR Congo, Congo, Tunisia, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Niger and Mali are the other qualified teams.

Host Cameroon

Cameroon qualify automatically as 2020 hosts, but the tournament dates and venues have not been announced.

Morocco served notice that they will be strong contenders to become the first nation to successfully defend the title when they beat Algeria 3-0.

After a goalless first leg, the holders broke the deadlock on 27 minutes when Badr Benoun converted a penalty and Hamid Ahadad and Mohamed Nahiri also netted before half-time.

Uganda defeated Burundi 3-0 in Kampala to go through 6-0 on aggregate and Rwanda narrowly got past Ethiopia 2-1 overall to qualify after a 1-1 draw in Kigali.

Qualified Teams

  • Cameroon (Hosts)
  • Morocco
  • Namibia
  • Rwanda
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • DR Congo
  • Congo
  • Tunisia
  • Burkina Faso
  • Guinea
  • Niger
  • Mali

Read More:Asieche, Wakhungu take surprising leads in KPL golden boot race