Premier League has explained why Manchester City were not awarded a penalty after Trent Alexander-Arnold handled the ball inside the box in Liverpool's 3-1 win.
City started the game with much intent as Bernardo Silva whipped in a cross before Alexander-Arnold intercepted with replays showing clear contact with his arm, leaving Sergio Aguero furious.
Liverpool went on to score at the other end 22 seconds later with Fabinho opening the scoring with a long-range drive after a swift counter-attack.
Professional Game Match Officials Limited (PGMOL) explained in a statement why the penalty was not awarded, "The VAR checked the penalty appeal for handball against Trent Alexander-Arnold and confirmed the on-field decision that it did not meet the considerations for a deliberate handball."
Othe second goal, PGMOL said, "VAR checked for possible offside, and confirmed that the Salah goal was correct."
Official rules on handball state if the arm or hand makes the body ‘unnaturally bigger’, it is a handball.