Karim Benzema explains his panenka penalty
General

Karim Benzema explains his panenka penalty

Karim Benzema has explained his decision to take a panenka penalty in their 4-3 loss to Manchester City on Tuesday night.

Hosts City had raced to a 4-2 lead after Bernando Silva's volley but Madrid was given a lifeline from the penalty spot after Laporte had been adjudged to have handled the ball in his own box.

Up stepped Benzema from the sport to reduce the arrears in a marvelous way that left many marveling at his confidence. Speaking to Sky Sports after the game, the Frenchman explained why he pulled such a move.

“I always have it in my head that if you don’t take a penalty, you will never miss a penalty. That’s mental confidence and that’s all. I have a lot of confidence in myself… so I do it and it turns out well," Benzema said.

The move came just days after the Frenchman missed two penalties in Real Madrid’s previous match, both being saved by Osasuna’s Sergio Herrera.

Benzema and co will hope that they can turn the one-goal deficit in the second leg at the Bernabeu as they aim to win the Champions League for another time in their history.

  • Real Madrid - Next Match
  • 9, Oct - 3:00pm
Go to Event